An update and the subbed OP

This is a short update. lostmynic (QC) and eltony (editor) are currently slaving away at getting the partial patch ready for this month’s (potential) release. In the meantime I’ve started on Michiru’s route. The two other translators are of course also working very hard on their respective routes.

You might be wondering why the partial patch is taking so long considering that translation and editing finished back in August. We didn’t look through the older scripts for a few months and when we eventually took another look at them we realized that we weren’t too happy with the overall quality. It’s no surprise since for most of us this is the very first translation we’re involved in. We decided to increase the quality to reflect our later work and therefore we started heavily TLC-ing and re-editing everything in the common and Chisato routes. This shouldn’t be necessary for the later routes and this will be a one-time thing (we hope).

We’ve passed the halfway point and if eltony and lostmynic go full Hikikomori for the rest of the month they should be able to finish in time. However, we’re not 100% sure we can make it. Don’t forget, the partial patch will only contain everything which is accessible during the first playthrough, so only the common and Chisato routes.

We also have a little treat for you guys this week, namely we finally uploaded the OP which we translated months ago. You can watch it here: link

Now without further ado, here’s the update:

Common/Chisato: 18398/18398 lines translated.
Satsuki: 8334/8334
Isara: 3166/5919
Mifuyu: 1752/5425
Michiru: 1699/6547

Translation: 285/397 files
Editing: 181/397 files.
QC: 77/397 files.

P.S. I’ve also set up a twitter account here for people who want another option to follow our progress.
P.P.S. Zebra-kun’s light novel translation blog’s URL has changed. It’s now: http://savannatranslations.wordpress.com/
P.P.P.S. eltony has asked me to post another weird side project of his again… I posted it a little before this post. I really don’t get what his projects are about, maybe they’re in some way related to koichoco…

Update: Unfortunately Christmas has been delayed, we’ve overworked our elves. Hopefully they’ll be back in business soon.

35 thoughts on “An update and the subbed OP

  1. Kievnstavick

    Can’t Wait for the possible partial patch. Keep up the good work! I’m excited to finally play this game

    Reply
  2. Ale

    Waiting for it!  08.12.2013, 15:11, “Basic Translations” <comment-reply@wordpress.com>: basicvntls posted: “This is a short update. lostmynic (QC) and eltony (editor) are currently slaving away at getting the partial patch ready for this month’s (potential) release. In the meantime I’ve started on Michiru’s route. The two other translators are of course also wo”

    Reply
  3. satsuki a best girl

    Thanks for the update guys 😀 I really look forward to playing this game.

    Even tho theres no satsuki… ;_;

    Reply
    1. eltony

      You again?
      You’re so very wrong, Aomi is best girl with Hazuki as a close second, I just can’t understand how you can be so wrong.

      Reply
      1. Zebra-kun

        >Chisato
        nope

        >Oboro
        What are you even doing here

        >Hazuki
        Again, best girl

        >Isara
        Maybe, I would love to make dinner with her

        >Satsuki
        Wassup, bro.

  4. Elzard Hewie

    “we started heavily TLC-ing and re-editing everything in the common and Chisato routes.”

    Hey wait a minute. Does the game perhaps have a script to force the player to go through another route (a.k.a. Chisato’s) before Satsuki’s route ?

    P.S
    Sir Eltony I’ll agree to the fact that Hazuki may be the best (equally to Satsuki) but Aomi ?
    Did you perhaps first typed Hazuki but then had 3 whiskeys and then typed ‘Aomi’ unconsciously thinking that this is the ‘post’ button ? Yes very understandable 🙂

    Reply
    1. basicvntls Post author

      Hey wait a minute. Does the game perhaps have a script to force the player to go through another route (a.k.a. Chisato’s) before Satsuki’s route ?

      I don’t know why you quoted that part of our post, but yes, the first route is indeed forced.

      Reply
      1. Elzard Hewie

        Damn it. I can’t say that I’m a fan of the ‘force route’ idea 😦
        Still thanks for telling. I quoted it because the ‘ the common and Chisato routes.’ part gave me the idea that they are connected and forced on the player before the others.

        Hey Basic Since you are translating this project (and obviously you know Japanese) I’m hoping that maybe you are a bit more familiar with Japanese traditions – so do you know the reason why some VN developers are cruelly forcing players to go through a route which in many cases the player doesn’t want to do that and wants to play his favourite route instead ?
        If it was just a few games that are like that it would’ve been fine but the problem is that there are many high quality games that have forced routes. Here is a little list if those which i know:
        -‘Sengoku Rance’, ‘Kono Oozora ni, Tsubasa wo Hirogete’, ‘Soul Link’, a part of ‘Harukoi Otome (although Since Ayaka and Kisaya’s routes are free on the first play – it’s forgivable. My favourite game btw.)’, ‘Tsukihime (partly locked)’. And if I knew Japanese than rest assured – I would’ve made this list 10 times bigger.

      2. basicvntls Post author

        Edit: The forced route discussion wasn’t really going anywhere and should have stayed in one comment chain. This was just messy.

    1. lostmynic

      walkthroughs are already out there though… i made one using basic’s TL which i might put out at some point too.

      Reply
  5. shi0nmaku

    I’ll be waiting for the patch then! 😀
    One suggestion, why didn’t you guys time the Kanji as well, also, I can give you effects for the song. If you guys would want that, just tell me 🙂

    Reply
    1. basicvntls Post author

      I guess you’re talking about the OP? Currently we’re fine with how the OP turned out, but if we do change our minds I’ll keep you in mind. Thanks for the offer!

      Reply
      1. shi0nmaku

        Yes, I was talking about the OP 😀
        Oh well, at least you know where to find me 🙂
        I’d be glad to help, especially in one of my favorite VNs 🙂

  6. voltage

    Christmas surprise please!… just kidding, i’m pretty patient and have no problem if you guys are taking longer for a partial. Keep up the hard work.

    Reply
  7. TaroTanaka

    about the patch, by any chance if its not a Christmas present but a new year jackpot?

    Reply
    1. basicvntls Post author

      Unfortunately no. We were in over our heads with this deadline. As you might have seen from the Twitter timeline it was simply too much work so we had to delay it. I’ll most likely get a new post up shortly after New Years with an update. We’re certainly making progress but our focus is on quality and not speed.

      Reply
      1. shi0nmaku

        I may be double posting or anything, the net sucks right now. You can check out my blog, I’m also a translator, and I think I have a bit of confidence in my speed and quality. Err um, I also work for YNS, though I know… Adding more jobs would make me slower due to having many projects plus fan subbing, but whenever I’m finished with Nao-chan’s route in YnS and in HnS, and you guys aren’t still finished, don’t hesitate to tell me to check the other finished routes, I can do them if I’m pretty serious about it.

      2. basicvntls Post author

        Thanks for your offer! However, we’re no longer looking for any more members for the Koichoco project. We might need more people for future projects and if you’re still interested by then let me know. Of course you’re free to mail me (see contact page) for contact information if you want to talk.

  8. foda123

    why don’t you provide the tools that you’re using for other people be able to translate this game into others languages​​?

    Reply
    1. lostmynic

      well, assuming people were going to use our translation as a base, there’d be little point in releasing the tools without our translation already out… but if anyone is serious about it they can try contacting us. just know this isn’t some small manga, it’s thousands of lines of text.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

