Just in time for August

It feels like updates are slowly getting further apart, perhaps it’s due to the lack of progress over the summer. But we still try to keep you updated on our progress on the Koichoco translation as good as possible. So let’s start with some good news: The translation itself is now as good as finished!

Now…don’t get too excited just yet. I think I’ve already mentioned it a few times, but we’re still far from a release. Strange as it may sound, translating a game is not only about the translation. Before it’s ready for release it’ll still need to go through several stages of translation checking, editing, quality control and even more random testing. And in that regard we still have a long way to go.

Here’s the current status:

Common/Chisato: 18398/18398
Satsuki: 8334/8334
Michiru: 6547/6547
Isara: 5919/5919
Mifuyu: 5425/5425

Translation: 397/397 files
Editing: 228/397 files
QC: 165/397 files

As you can imagine we’ll now focus all our attention on the remaining aspects of the process. We won’t give you an ETA. It’ll be done when it’s done.

P.S. Eltony wants to provide weekly status updates on his twitter account (@elpwny), so follow him if you want to follow editing progress (and useless ramblings).

49 thoughts on “Just in time for August

  1. meh

    I was wondering where can I get this game? I’ve been looking around online and maybe I’m typing in the search wrong anyone help? thanks in advance

    Reply
  2. rubytyr

    Good for you guys, congratulations! The biggest hurdle is still over, even if there is alot left to do. 🙂

    Reply
  3. Diamondketo

    Great job guys! I do wish we can get partial patches because there are people who would rather play a translation that hasn’t been QC than wait.
    I kinda do understand why you guys wouldn’t do partial patches since I’ve done fan translations before (well…only as an UI Artist).

    PS: Please keep up the good work and release soon…my waifu (Satsuki) is waiting for me. Feeling that I betrayed by playing the common route (SPOILER: cuz of Chisato 18+ *cough*)

    Reply
      1. Diamondketo

        Lol I already know XD. My fan translation (White Album 2) does partial patches.

  4. Zero

    Thanks So much guys! I swear if this happens and you guys actually make it I will donate something, books, even some money if you like! You guys are awsome, thanks for doing this! 😀

    Reply
    1. basicvntls Post author

      Thanks Zero, but just the gesture is enough for us 🙂 We won’t be taking any donations (In whatever form they may be ^^)

      Reply
    1. basicvntls Post author

      In what way do you mean? If you mean to ask if we intent to translate it, then I can tell you we’ve already had that question several times. Unfortunately the answer to that is “no”, we have no plans to translate Imaimo.

      Or did you mean something else?

      Reply
      1. basicvntls Post author

        Ah in that sense. Well I haven’t completed the whole game yet. But I generally like what I played of it so far. It’s a fairly easy read and the common story is (imo) more lighthearted than Koichoco. Which is not necessarily better but enjoyable. It’s just that I don’t like all characters good enough (except Matsuri <3), to motivate myself to complete it.

  5. chent7

    thank you for continuing the translation for this game…
    the chinese group that started the their translation had only done one for the psp version and their website is now shut down…
    looking forward to the final version 😀

    Reply
  6. xxsaberxx

    Will be eagerly awaiting the final release. I want my dosage of Satsuki and Mifuyu~~~~

    Reply
    1. basicvntls Post author

      The original game is rated 18+ and our patch will keep that rating. We will however provide an all-ages patch which will have the 18+ content cut out.

      Reply
    1. anon

      There’s none and probably won’t be any soon. You guys could really use second editor

      Reply
  7. k8k9

    We know you are a group of fans translating the game for free. And for that we are very grateful to you! But I think you should really get a second editor.
    We are patient, but Eltony’s attitude is really annoying, and he reflects badly on you as a group and your excellent work so far.

    Reply
    1. Zebra-kun

      I’m sorry, but are you criticizing our precious editor? You’re calling his ‘bad attitude’?
      Please excuse me but if one of you judge our awesome partners like that you can suck my fish-sausage dick first. And then we’ll talk.

      Reply
    2. Mykorrhiza

      Pretty rude there, eh? I’m not quite well informed but I read Eltonys Tweets and comments here but cannot find any justification for your claim.
      Sure – your own opinion. But I think as you are someone who basically wants something from this group you should keep that to yourself. I quite like his attitude by the way.

      Well, I shouldn’t start a war over something like this I guess…

      Michiru is my favorite since I watched the Anime during its release.. That’s quite some time ago. Tried reading it with ITH and Translation Aggregator but gave up halfway. I’m looking forward to your release. Just take your time – I know you will anyway, regardless of what we write. 😀 Will be fun reading!

      Reply
      1. lostmynic

        i hate tony he’s a dick, i’ve been trying to get him fired since forever!

  8. Ringocygnus

    I will refrain from replying on you rudely bashing our editor, as Zebra already made that clear, but what you propose is not as easy as you make it sound. “Find a second editor”. We like to put out a quality product, and for that a very capable editor is definitely a necessity. Believe me, even though it might seem simple, finding an editor that meets our criteria is very hard. We actually had a few applications for editors but they lacked the aptitude that we demand.

    Things are moving along and there should probably be some progress posted somewhere within October. Just sit back and play some other vns, these things take time. We will get it done eventually.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

